Can a Power Station Run a Garage Door Opener?
By Hicham M. · Updated October 17, 2026 · How we calculate
Energy isn’t the problem. A trip up or down takes 10–15 seconds, so even at our planning figure of 720 W running, one trip uses about 3 Wh. A dozen trips a day is roughly 36 Wh.
The start is the hard part. An older opener with an AC motor can pull about 1,420 W for an instant, which is more than many small stations’ surge rating. Some newer openers start more gently: Genie advertises soft start for its DC motor. And an opener with a working battery backup may not need a power station at all, since LiftMaster says its backup lasts one to two days.
Runtime by power station
Nonstop runtime for one garage door opener at 720 W average, with 85% inverter efficiency. Models that can't supply its running or starting power are listed separately below.
| Power station | Battery | Runtime | Bar |
|---|---|---|---|
| Jackery Explorer 5000 Plus | 5,040 Wh | 5.9 hours | |
| EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3 | 4,096 Wh | 4.8 hours | |
| Goal Zero Yeti PRO 4000 | 3,994 Wh | 4.7 hours | |
| Anker SOLIX F3800 | 3,840 Wh | 4.5 hours | |
| Anker SOLIX F3800 Plus | 3,840 Wh | 4.5 hours | |
| EcoFlow DELTA Pro Older | 3,600 Wh | 4.3 hours | |
| Anker SOLIX F3000 | 3,072 Wh | 3.6 hours | |
| BLUETTI Elite 300 | 3,014 Wh | 3.6 hours | |
| BLUETTI Apex 300 | 2,765 Wh | 3.3 hours | |
| BLUETTI Elite 200 V2 | 2,074 Wh | 2.4 hours |
Show the other 32 models that can run it
| Power station | Battery | Runtime | Bar |
|---|---|---|---|
| EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max | 2,048 Wh | 2.4 hours | |
| EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max Plus | 2,048 Wh | 2.4 hours | |
| EcoFlow DELTA 2 Max Older | 2,048 Wh | 2.4 hours | |
| BLUETTI AC200L | 2,048 Wh | 2.4 hours | |
| BLUETTI AC200MAX Older | 2,048 Wh | 2.4 hours | |
| Anker SOLIX C2000 Gen 2 | 2,048 Wh | 2.4 hours | |
| Anker SOLIX F2000 (767) Older | 2,048 Wh | 2.4 hours | |
| DJI Power 2000 | 2,048 Wh | 2.4 hours | |
| Jackery Explorer 2000 v2 | 2,042 Wh | 2.4 hours | |
| Jackery Explorer 2000 Plus Older | 2,042 Wh | 2.4 hours | |
| BLUETTI AC200P Older | 2,000 Wh | 2.4 hours | |
| Jackery Explorer 1500 v2 | 1,536 Wh | 1.8 hours | |
| Jackery Explorer 1500 Ultra | 1,536 Wh | 1.8 hours | |
| Goal Zero Yeti 1500X Older | 1,516 Wh | 1.8 hours | |
| Goal Zero Yeti 1500 | 1,505 Wh | 1.8 hours | |
| Jackery Explorer 1000 Plus | 1,264 Wh | 1.5 hours | |
| Anker SOLIX F1200 (757) Older | 1,229 Wh | 1.5 hours | |
| BLUETTI AC180 | 1,152 Wh | 1.4 hours | |
| Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 | 1,070 Wh | 1.3 hours | |
| Anker SOLIX C1000 | 1,056 Wh | 1.2 hours | |
| EcoFlow DELTA 3 | 1,024 Wh | 1.2 hours | |
| EcoFlow DELTA 3 Plus | 1,024 Wh | 1.2 hours | |
| EcoFlow DELTA 2 Older | 1,024 Wh | 1.2 hours | |
| BLUETTI Elite 100 V2 | 1,024 Wh | 1.2 hours | |
| Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2 | 1,024 Wh | 1.2 hours | |
| DJI Power 1000 | 1,024 Wh | 1.2 hours | |
| Jackery Explorer 1000 Pro Older | 1,002 Wh | 1.2 hours | |
| Jackery Explorer 1000 Older | 1,002 Wh | 1.2 hours | |
| Goal Zero Yeti 1000 | 998 Wh | 1.2 hours | |
| EcoFlow RIVER 2 Pro Older | 768 Wh | 54 min | |
| Anker SOLIX C800 Plus May not start it: surge not published | 768 Wh | 54 min | |
| DJI Power 500 May not start it: surge not published | 512 Wh | 36 min |
Models that can't run it
| Power station | Output | Surge | Why |
|---|---|---|---|
| BLUETTI EB70S | 800 W | 1,400 W | Can’t start it |
| Goal Zero Yeti 700 | 600 W | 1,000 W | Not enough output |
| Jackery Explorer 500 | 500 W | 1,000 W | Not enough output |
| EcoFlow RIVER 2 Max | 500 W | 1,000 W | Not enough output |
| Jackery Explorer 300 | 300 W | 500 W | Not enough output |
| Jackery Explorer 300 v2 | 300 W | 600 W | Not enough output |
| Anker SOLIX C300 | 300 W | 600 W | Not enough output |
| EcoFlow RIVER 3 Plus | 600 W | 1,200 W | Not enough output |
| BLUETTI EB3A | 600 W | 1,200 W | Not enough output |
| Jackery Explorer 240 v2 | 300 W | 600 W | Not enough output |
| EcoFlow RIVER 3 | 300 W | 600 W | Not enough output |
| Jackery Explorer 240 | 200 W | 400 W | Not enough output |
We may earn a commission if you buy through these links. It never changes our numbers, and every model in our database is included whether or not it pays us. Learn more.
What the manuals say
| Opener | Motor | Rated current at 120 V | Roughly |
|---|---|---|---|
| Chamberlain 501M and 4000E/5000E series (1/2 HP) | AC, permanent split capacitor, 1,500 rpm | 4.5 A | up to 540 W |
| LiftMaster 8500 (wall mount) | Not stated; optional battery backup | 1.0 A | up to 120 W |
| Chamberlain RJO101 (wall mount) | Not stated | 1.5 A, plus 0.2 A for the light | up to 205 W |
| Genie ChainMax 1000 (3/4 HPc) | 140 V DC, soft start and stop | Not published |
Multiplying amps by 120 V gives an upper bound on running watts. Our 720 W figure comes from Honda’s generator chart and sits above every rating we found, so treat it as cautious. The start is where openers differ most. Honda lists 1,420 W to start, about twice the running figure, while Genie advertises “soft start and stop control” for its 140 V DC motor.
Duty cycle is short by design. LiftMaster’s 8500 manual says not to exceed 10 complete cycles an hour. Older AC units like the 4000E travel 15–20 cm (6–8 inches) a second, and Genie lists up to 7.5 inches a second, so a 7-foot door takes roughly 10–14 seconds.
The standby draw can matter more than the trips. Green Building Advisor, citing LiftMaster, put the 8550’s standby at about 1 W, and it says older openers draw as much as 14 W. At 14 W, a day of standby is about 336 Wh, roughly nine times what a dozen trips use.
Battery backup: required in California
Since July 1, 2019, California’s SB 969 (Health and Safety Code section 19892) has barred manufacturing for sale, selling, offering or installing a residential automatic garage door opener without a battery backup that works during an electrical outage. It also bars connecting a replacement garage door to an existing opener without one. The civil penalty is $1,000 per opener.
What a backup gives you: LiftMaster’s 8550-series manual says a fully charged battery runs the opener for “one to two days of normal operation” during an outage, takes 24 hours to recharge, and lasts about 1 to 2 years. On battery, the lights, timer-to-close, remote close and camera features don’t work. Genie’s manual calls for a 12 V, 5 Ah sealed lead-acid replacement battery and says the opener runs at reduced speed on it.
The free option: the manual release
Openers also have an emergency release cord on the trolley. LiftMaster’s manual says to use it with the door closed if possible, because weak or broken springs or an unbalanced door could make an open door fall “rapidly and/or unexpectedly”, and never to use the handle to pull the door open or closed. Genie’s manual says the same: “DO NOT use emergency release cord to pull door!”
If the door is heavy or sticks once it’s released, that’s a spring or balance problem for a trained door technician, not something to force during an outage.
Before the next outage
- Find out if your opener has a battery backup, and test it: unplug the opener and run the door. LiftMaster says its batteries last about 1 to 2 years.
- Find your opener’s amps on the label on the motor unit. An AC opener rated 4.5 A wants a station with a healthy surge rating; one rated 1–1.5 A is far easier.
- Mind the plug. LiftMaster’s openers have a grounding-type plug, and its manual says never to use an extension cord or 2-wire adapter. If the opener is wired in permanently, any backup feed needs a licensed electrician; never backfeed a circuit through a wall outlet.
- Practice the manual release once in daylight, with the door closed, so you aren’t learning it in the dark.
- Add the opener to your outage list in the runtime calculator to check the surge with everything else running.
Questions
How many watts does a garage door opener use?
Will my garage door opener work in a power outage?
Can a small power station run a garage door opener?
Related
- How Long Will a Power Station Run a Refrigerator?
- How Long Will a Power Station Run a Chest Freezer?
- How Long Will a Power Station Run a CPAP?
- How Long Will a Power Station Run an Oxygen Concentrator?
- Can a Power Station Run a Sump Pump?
- Can a Power Station Run a Window Air Conditioner?
- Full appliance wattage chart
Sources
Wattage figures are typical values from the sources below. Your appliance may differ, so check its label or measure it with a plug-in watt meter.
- powerequipment.honda.com/generators/generator-wattage-estimation-guide
- legiscan.com/CA/text/SB969/2017
- support.chamberlaingroup.com/s/article/LiftMaster-Garage-Door-Opener-Models-8550W-855…
- cgi.widen.net/s/2msqfpqqv7/114a5229
- dandddoors.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/07/8500-Manual1.pdf
- images.thdstatic.com/catalog/pdfImages/ab/abb117d5-fb1c-42e2-a07f-4d463fee005…
- remoconsp.com/descargas/LIFTMASTER_SERIE_E.pdf
- sfb47267557e124fb.jimcontent.com/download/version/1484969925/module/11125952457/name/501M…
- ismartgate.com/manuals/Genie_3035_manual.pdf
- store.geniecompany.com/products/genie-chainmax-1000-essentials-3-4-hpc-chain-dr…
- greenbuildingadvisor.com/article/garage-door-openers-are-always-on